Lala’s Story

March 18, 2009

My name is Lalasaheb Gaikwad. I live in Latur. I was born on 15th August 1981. Family background is fine in a way. My father was an army personnel. We live in a joint family in which we are 12 brothers. I had a passion to work for something different since my childhood. I was sent to school for Ist standard at my aunty’s home, because my father’s posting was at Hyderabad.

Aunty lived in a slum and hence there was no educational environment as such. After completing my 2nd standard in this area, my mother came to live in Latur. I then started my education in Latur. Here the school was reputed but I was an average in studies. My father retired when I was studying in 8th class. My father started cushion works with the help of carpenters and I used to work in his shop after my school. I learnt to work well in 3-6 months. I could earn Rs. 200-300 per day independently. This continued for two years. When I was in 10th class my father took the contract of selling sand from river. I used to go to school from 7 to 12 in the morning. Then I traveled back to my village on cycle. Then for the entire day I worked for obtaining royalty from the vehicle owners who used to take sand. Usually I wouldn’t be home before midnight. I spent the entire time in this manner in my SSC and somehow cleared it in second class. I took admission to 11th in Science stream with Mathematics as major.

At the same time, my neighbouring friend used to work a pathology laboratory. I would go with him after attending the college. For the first two months I could not understand anything but the senior technician kept guiding me about initiating some work. Thus I somehow started to work in the laboratory. Mr. Laddha, one of the reputed doctor in Latur, offered me a job when he observed my skills in pathology. He gave me Rs. 500 per month initially and I had to go around the city on cycle to collect samples throughout the day. In the evening I would help the senior technician in order to learn the work. Gradually I learnt everything and in six months I was offered a salary of Rs. 1400 per month. In a year’s time, I started earning Rs. 3000 per month. In the 14th month I was asked to look after the lab and then I was given a salary of Rs. 4500 per month.

When I was studying in HSC, I took leave of one month before the exams. After the examinations were over I stayed at home. Doctor came to me a few times and finally gave me a offer to take the share (4% in the collection) in the profit obtained from the lab. I cleared HSC in 1st class and took admission for BHMS but did not attend the college. I took admission for Bachelor of Social Work (BSW). College and Laboratory was the equation for three years. I was active in various cultural and sports activities held in the college. I also participated in the elocution competitions and I was awarded as Best Student of the Year in the college. Then, I took admission for MSW in University Departement of SRTMU, Nanded. I also started working on a part-time basis with an NGO. I worked for different activities in the University Campus for two years. I was very active in all the happenings in the University despite my engagement with a part-time job. I had participated in different national and state level competitions and was successful; hence I was loved by my friends as well as teachers a lot.

After completing MSW, I worked with ICSSR, Action AID, Gramin Vikas Shikshan Sanstha, Latur, Samagra Bahuddeshiya Shikshan Sanstha, Latur as field investigator, co-ordinator, Team Leader. While I was working for this, my younger brother was not studying and hence I helped him in setting up a music shop and a carom house. I registered a finance company and started money lending, but nothing much could be achieved. Therefore I helped my brother to be a cable operator and I look after it sometimes even today. He then started a Hall for Wedding and other ceremonies. This business took a grip because of good contacts. However, I did not leave the NGO field. I then started a cyber café in partnership. Computer sales and services were also started along with this. Today, we need adequate capital to run this business in a successful way.

After taking a look at my journey of 10-15 years, I realize that we definitely get sweet fruits for our hard work and efforts. I have good relations in the Latur Market. Traders respect me and invite me for various programmes. I am also invited as a resource person. I wish to be a renowned personality and an entrepreneur but with a social belonging. I do general reading now a days. I work in the NGO sector for my satisfaction. I keep searching for new things which could be implemented. I have good support of my family and friends while working. In future I wish to be a person who my parents are proud of. I would definitely do something for this.

I wish to tell that there is no other way than education. Nothing is impossible in this world. What we need to do is hard work and success will follow. Everything seems to have a right time. This time means an opportunity. We should be able to grab the available opportunity. I have faced a number of problems but never accepted defeat. I kept working hard and will continue to do and I believe that success will be achieved.

One Response to “Lala’s Story”

  1. wonker said

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

Leave a comment